Saving Straitsmouth Island: A History
By Paul St. Germain
Published by The History Press
Paperback - 192 Pages, 81 ImagesJust off the coast of Rockport, Straitsmouth Island has enjoyed a noteworthy history that belies the island’s small size. From the Pawtucket Indigenous peoples who summered there more than one thousand years ago to its discovery by famous explorers Samuel de Champlain and Captain John Smith in the seventeenth century, it has seen fishermen, shipwrecks and piracy. From 1835 to 1935, three lighthouses were built, all with fascinating stories of the keepers and their families. Thanks to tireless restoration efforts by the Thacher Island Association and Massachusetts Audubon Society, the island was opened to the public for the first time in 180 years. Local historian Paul St. Germain details the rich history of this unique New England treasure and the efforts to preserve both its structures and natural beauty.