De Hirsh Margules, Mother Ann Lighthouse, Eastern Point, Gloucester, 1946. Gouache on paper. Gift of Jean M. Horblit, 2002. [Acc. #2002.004.002]
The Cape Ann Museum cleared land off Proctor Street last year that it has owned since the 1940s for construction of a new, 12,500-foot storage and programming facility.
The museum also purchased the historic Babson-Alling House at 243 Washington St. creating a campus off Grant Circle.
With construction of the storage facility behind the historic White Ellery House finished, the museum is planting 60 trees on its new campus at the corner of the city’s gateway rotary.
The museum hopes to be able to showcase its new facilities in time for a pair of simultaneous anniversaries: The year 2023 will not only mark the 400th anniversary of the 1623 settlement of Gloucester, but the 150-year anniversary of the founding of the museum.